BDS!

About one month ago I ended my time at university. Five years of blood, sweat and tears culminated in that moment, for I have finally graduated!

The moments at the graduation ceremony were indeed glorious. There were fancy costumes to wear, elaborate rituals to uphold and a Hippocratic oath to read out. Everyone was grinning, laughing, congratulating, hugging & shaking hands. People came with their families, whose parents were so proud and probably happier than their children. But deep down, we all knew that the graduation is just a ceremony, and that the real nail-biter was results day. I’ll spend more time talking about that instead.

I was in a restaurant in downtown Belfast with a few friends having lunch, knowing that it’s results day so we could either celebrate or cry together. It’s 2017 and we’re in the age of push-notifications. A beep on my phone and I got an email titled EXAMINATION RESULTS. Immediately my pulse raced and I quickly fumbled my fingers over to the mobile web browser to log into the university’s student portal. When I found out, I let out a huge sigh of relief. No screaming or cheering, some joy, but mostly relief. It was finally over!

Photo credits: Yi Lin T Photography

So here I am, with a Bachelor of Dental Surgery. Here’s to a beginning of a dental career that I’m so very excited to embark on. I’m ready to contribute to society.

Finally,

Dr Fong Wenkai
BDS (Belfast)


P.S. I’ve returned home to Malaysia for good! Currently waiting for a government placement. Will soon blog about the process of applying (as of 2017) and my experience with it.

Leave a comment